“There’s only o…

“There’s only one Joelle, but she’s applying to 20 schools.*”
– Mama

*I’m not applying to 20 schools; that would be way too expensive. My mother’s mindset is that I choose my school, apply to it, and get in.  But with acceptance rates from 5-34%, I cannot afford to be certain of entrance into most of the schools that I am applying to.

She even sent me this article: http://news.yahoo.com/michelle-obama-recalls-being-told-shed-never-princeton-141209385–abc-news-politics.html?soc_src=mediacontentsharebuttons (For those of you too lazy to read the article, it’s about how people told Michelle Obama that she would never get into Princeton, but she did.)

I will never know anyone who believes in me as much as my mother. She honestly believes that I will get into any school I want.

In some ways, I adore her lack of knowledge of the college application process in America. It just means that I have someone behind me who believes in me always.

Leave a Reply

